top of page
  • Writer's pictureJason

Chakra 4: Heart, Relationships, Emotions

Updated: Nov 29, 2020

Chakra 4 is traditionally called Anahata in the yogic tradition. Anahata translates from Sanskrit to English as "unstruck", or could be thought of as the indestructible force. This energy/power center is located in the heart and chest area.

This energy center acts as our center of feelings, acceptance of ourself and of others. It deals with our capacity to love and accept love.

Signs of balance:

  • Self Acceptance  

  • Kindness

  • Healthy Relationships

  • The ability to meet people where they are

  • Gratitude

  • The capacity to cry at something beautiful or painful

  • Empathy

  • Joy

  • Peace

  • Emotional Intelligence

Out of balance red flags:

  • Excessive GRIEF

  • Excessive Anger

  • Jealousy

  • Self judgement

  • Judgement of others

  • Bitterness

  • Hate

  • Emotionally numb

  • Emotional bypassing and inauthentic "it's all good" people

Heart chakra affirmations:

"I love and accept myself unconditionally". 

"I am worthy of love". 

"Love and gratitude overflow through me".

"My heart is open".

"I accept my anger, but it does not control me".

"I let go and release of my pain".

Practices focused on this energy center:

  • Backbends

  • Love & Gratitude Meditation

  • Growth relationships

  • Being around children

  • San Pedro Cactus (grandfather medicine)

  • Kambo

  • Release work like Yin Yoga to move stored emotional baggage stuck in the body

Questions to gain insight on this energy center:

  • How open is your heart?

  • How aware are you of your emotions?

  • What pain are you holding onto?

  • What makes you sad?

  • What does gratitude mean to you?

  • How can you fully accept yourself?

  • What judgments are you holding on yourself?

  • What judgements are you holding on your partner?

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page